|
09/19/2005, 04:25 AM | #1 |
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
Feed cycle problems
When I use the Feed Cycle on the ACjr it will turn on only 50% of the time. Can't be babysitting. Here is my feed line program below.
If timer>0000 then pm1 ON If feed then PM1 OFF If feed then COL OFF Help. TIA |
09/19/2005, 06:04 AM | #2 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 375
|
Try the following as your current commands are not formatted correctly:
If Time > 00:00 Then PM1 ON If Feed cycle Then PM1 OFF If Feed cycle Then COL OFF |
09/19/2005, 11:58 AM | #3 |
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
exactly and precise
Yes. That is what my programing reads. I just checked it thrice. My entire program below.
If sun 000/000 then LT1 ON If time > 1430 then LT2 ON If time < 1730 then LT2 OFF If MON 000/000 then MON ON If temp < RT-.3 then HET ON If temp > RT then HET OFF If temp > RT+.3 then COL ON If temp < RT then COL OFF If temp > RT+.3 then FAN ON If temp < RT then FAN OFF If time > 0000 then PM1 ON If feed cycle then PM1 OFF If feed cycle then COL OFF If CO2 > 6.65 then CO2 ON If CO2 < 6.60 then CO2 OFF Any problems with the program as written? Just checked again and the feed cycle timer just resets its countdown to another 13 mins. Did the self test on the unit and it passes showing version A065. help. TIA |
09/20/2005, 12:10 AM | #4 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 375
|
According to that program, the PM1 and COL should turn off when you hit the feed cycle. Try moving the "If Time > 00:00 Then PM1 ON" to the top of the program list. It might just be an order of operations thing.
|
09/20/2005, 07:36 AM | #5 |
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
moved Timer to top
I just moved the program line to the very top of the list. Still experiencing intermittent startup of the main sump pump. Why???
|
09/20/2005, 12:12 PM | #6 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Waterloo, Ont. Canada
Posts: 1,076
|
Are you using X10 modules? Perhaps there is noise preventing the pump from turning back on afterwards. Try programming a different address for the pump and change the module address to match. How long is the feed timer set for? Will the pump turn on/off with manual control on the Aquacontroller?
|
09/21/2005, 03:13 AM | #7 |
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
dc8 hardwired to ACjr
The dc8 is hardwired to the ACjr. No x10 modules in the system to cause interference. I am going to run the pump in a vineger bath for 24hrs. The only thing I can think of that would be preventing the pump from running after the feed cycle timer runs down is that the pump has a 50/50 chance to run the opposite direction. This is a reliable MAG12.
|
09/21/2005, 03:23 AM | #8 |
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
15 min feed cycle
Feed cycle is set to 15mins. I am starting to lose confidence in the programmer. If I didn't catch this could you imagine if I fed the tank and then left the house for the day. My main pump, the skimmer, ozone, and wavebox all OFF for the tank. Geez. Each outlet can handle 6amps. Correct? Any other thoughts?
|
09/21/2005, 07:43 AM | #9 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Waterloo, Ont. Canada
Posts: 1,076
|
Did you try turning the pump on and off manually from the "manual control" menu? It should stop and start within seconds. Try testing the outlet on the DC8 with a lamp or poerhead. Do you get the same problem?
|
09/21/2005, 08:50 AM | #10 |
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
No problems going into manual mode to turn on/off the pump.
|
09/22/2005, 10:46 AM | #11 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Waterloo, Ont. Canada
Posts: 1,076
|
Weird. Perhaps Curt has a suggestion for you.
|
09/23/2005, 12:00 AM | #12 |
Premium Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 100
|
I hope Curt can help. He must be out on convention.
|
09/23/2005, 04:35 PM | #13 |
RC Sponsor
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
|
I'm not aware of any issues on the feed cycle. These statements will definitely work:
If time > 00:00 then PM1 ON If feed cycle then PM1 OFF Make sure that the feed cycle statement comes second. Also make sure that there are no duplicate timer names, and that all control addresses are unique. You might want to try power cycling the controller, and see if the behavior changes. All program/configuration settings will remain the same after the power cycle. Curt |
09/27/2005, 07:31 AM | #14 | |
Registered Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kaliförńia
Posts: 1,769
|
Re: exactly and precise
Quote:
If time > 00:00 Then COL ON Placed just above it's feed cycle command. Not sure if this will solve the overall problem; but it might help. Also check the x-10 broadcast time; I think it should also be 15mins. If it's too short; the time command might re-set it (not sure on that tho).
__________________
Have you checked your Alk lately? Adequate Alk level is more important than Ca level... Current Tank Info: 150g Mixed Reef- garage sump, closed loop, 300# LR, DSB, 20g Fuge, 2x 250W MH |
|
09/27/2005, 09:47 AM | #15 |
RC Sponsor
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
|
If that is the only statement associated with COL then it does need some additional statements to turn it on/off. I assume that COL is the chiller and the statements would be something like:
If Temp > 79.0 Then COL ON If Temp < 78.0 Then COL OFF If Feed Cycle Then COL OFF The repeat interval species the amount of time in minutes that the AquaController must wait re-transmitting commands. For example if a fan turned on at 12:00, and was suppose to still be on at 12:05 then the AquaController would resend the ON command to the fan (assuming the repeat interval was 5 minutes). Curt |
09/27/2005, 12:18 PM | #16 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 119
|
I have experienced similar problems with the jr and a DC8. Sometimes the pump would not turn back on after a feed cycle and I have also experienced issues with one of my MH HQI lights just turning off suddenly and my Heater staying on when passed the threshold to make it turn off. I would have to go into manual control and turn off the devices, wait a few seconds to minute and turn them back on. My program is pretty much default with the exception of threshold values.
I am using an aquamedic oceanrunner pump and have the evc electronic ballasts. After self testing the controller and unplugging the dc8 and reconnecting it, the heater issue seems to be ok, but the the one light still acts weird at times. I've checked to see that the bulb is properly seatd in the socket and the plugs are all secure. The DC8 is sitting near the electronic ballasts and a tunze 7095 multicontroller. Could there be some interference problems? |
09/28/2005, 10:01 AM | #17 |
RC Sponsor
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
|
I'm sure that there is some appliance out there that generates enough electrical noise that interferes with the communication. However, I do not know of anything that does this nor have I heard of such an issue. The problem you are seeing is most likely a program configuration.
If you suspect an interference problem you can try: - move the DCX's telephone cord away from any other cords. - Coil up the cords to make them as short as possible. - move the DCX so that it further away from any suspected 'electrically noisy' devices. If this helps, I would be very interested in knowing exactly what ballasts, and other equipment is being controlled by the DCx. Please send an email to support@neptunesys.com. Curt |
Thread Tools | |
|
|