Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/10/2015, 10:10 AM   #1
LeRenard
Registered Member

How badly did I mess up?

Hey folks,

I'm a newb when it comes to saltwater, and apparently I'm not very good at it because I keep making mistakes and I haven't even gotten the tank cycled or fish in yet.

I'm setting up my first saltwater tank- as a FOWLR for now but hopefully as a reef in the future when I'm more confident in my skills and after I upgrade my lighting. It's a 36 gallon bowfont. For background, I'm an engineer and have "most" of a masters in secondary biology education, so I know only enough to be dangerous.

My LFS initially advised me that I could use tap water for my FOWLR, so I tried that and discovered the joys of precipitating calcium carbonate. I made a 36 gallon snow globe. I decided to ditch that attempt because I would never trust the parameters, and drained and cleaned the tank.

For a second attempt, again at the LFS, I purchased 35 gallons of premixed salt water. I figured I should at least start with a known-good water supply. The LFS said I would be able to put my live sand and some live rock in straight away, and that sounded like a pretty good prospect, so I also purchased 40 pounds of live sand and 35 pounds of really gorgeous live rock covered in deep purple coralline algae. Their instructions were to place the sand, place the live rock, then fill with seawater.

When I got home, I placed my sand, then placed in the live rock. I was able to get a really nice aquascape quickly because after building rock piles for my cichlid tanks for so long the live rock is much easier to stack. I then carefully poured in my premixed water.

That's when it hit me.. the seawater had been cooling the whole time and I'd forgotten to take that into account. When I set up my digital thermometer the tank read 60 degrees F.