Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 12/26/2018, 06:14 PM   #1
aravindk
Registered Member

Biopellet Bacterial bloom

I have been using Biopellet reactor for several years. Lately, I am experiencing heavy bacterial bloom. I mean the thick slimy stuff that is floating in the sump, stringy things that line up the wall of the sump and wires and stuff. It even goes to the display tank and the water is not as clear as it used to be. Every day I use a fishnet to grab as much as I can and dump it. But I am unable to keep up.

I have the reactor output line near the skimmer intake. My skimmer is a Royal Exclusive Alpha Cone 200, a workhorse that has served me quite well. I know that this skimmer had handled this load pretty well in the past and I am confident it is not like skimmer is not able to handle the load.

Any ideas where to look for trouble?

aravindk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/26/2018, 07:11 PM   #2
Crooked Reef
Registered Member

Did you recently refill the reactor? Is the skimmer producing as normal? I had this happen when I refilled mine, except my bacterial bloom was in the water column instead of the rocks. It lasted for two weeks until I put a UV sterilizer online. Cleared it up overnight.

Current Tank Info: 90 gallon reef. Biocube 29 lionfish tank. Mantis tank.
Crooked Reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/26/2018, 10:09 PM   #3
bertoni
RC Mod

I might try cutting back on the amount of media in the reactor if there's been no recent changes in its setup. Have there been any recent feeding changes?

Unread 12/26/2018, 10:40 PM   #4
mcgyvr
Registered Member

Yep...cut down on the amount of biopellets...sounds like too much..

Unread 12/27/2018, 06:55 AM   #5
aravindk
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crooked Reef View Post