|
12/28/2010, 06:48 PM | #26 | |
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 157
|
Quote:
You've got some good points here Shard. I just wanted to chime in and bring to light a development effort I've been working on now for a couple months with regards to the ReefAngel. I believe I've addressed most of the issues you mentioned with a client application I've built. So far I've got: - Live parameter display - Advanced graphing - Email/SMS notifications based off temperature thresholds - Remote Relay toggling and profiling - Parameter viewing online via USB (Meaning you don't need the wifi module to view parameters through a web browser. Controlling the relays is still a work in progress, though). My application will store parameters from the controller indefinitely so it's always viewable and you can view patters and trends and such. It's still a work in progress and suggestions like these are always welcome. Like the controller hardware and software, the application I've built is open source and free to download. It's just been a side project I've been working on for fun and is quite stable. I go into detail about it in the following threads: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=1881989 http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=1892797 screenie: Last edited by crank2211; 12/28/2010 at 06:54 PM. |
|
12/31/2010, 12:12 AM | #27 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 624
|
Crank2211,
A few issues I can think of that should be addressed with the ReefAngel controller, based mostly on the standard firmware. (1) pH control. Can it dose kalk using an outlet based on the pH values? What about adding CO2 to a Ca reactor when the pH drops (with a solenoid valve)? Can you change those set point values from the headunit or web page, or must they be hard coded? Based on what is available in the documentation for the stock firmware, pretty much none of this possible without coding it yourself. (2) Can you change settings from the headunit? Like re-assign outlets to different functions, or do you have to completely reload the program? Again, seems the answer to this is no also. (3) On the controller, are the set points for various things stored in NVRAM or the like, or do they reset to some default value during a power cycle? I think I read that they reset in the documentation. (4) Thinking of your application, it appears that it runs on a PC that hosts the webserver and interface. Have you considered programming it into the firmware so you do not have to have a computer connected 24/7? Needing a computer for this function adds to the overall complexity, bulk, and cost of a controller system. Integration with the Wifi module and the controller itself seems to be the best option. (5) Are there any plans for other probes besides pH? ORP and Salinity probes come to mind as a feature with most other controllers, and some even have DO probes. I am sure I can come up with some more for you. Do not take these as harsh criticisms of the controller. I feel these issues just need to be addressed if it wants to be on the same playing field as many of the commercial options. I am a big fan of open source software and hardware ideas, as I started using Linux back in 1995. There have been some unique products to come out of the fusion of business and open source. Great products like Firefox, OSX, etc. I just feel this controller has a ways to go before it can catch up with the mainstream options available. It is kind of like the early days of Linux. A lot of potential, but it hasn't been realized yet. I will probably be ordering one to play with myself, as I always like new toys, but I still feel some of the other controllers are a better value at the moment. By the way, I really like your app layout, it is very visually appealing. Definitely a new plus I did not know about for this controller. Landon
__________________
University: Biology M.S. - 2012, M.D. 2015 Tanks: (2) 28g Nanocube 150w MH HQI - 18w Actinic CF 29g Blue Spotted Jawfish Tank Last edited by Shard; 12/31/2010 at 12:41 AM. |
12/31/2010, 05:00 AM | #28 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,391
|
looks like you guys are into burning code or writing software and reefing? question do any of you guys work for one of these controller companies ? Just curious , these paragraphs are lengthy at times and just wondered..
__________________
hook line and sinker Current Tank Info: 2x2x4 120gal,sump45 gal.RKE controller,ATI Powermodule 8x80watt,1MP20+2MP40,1 mp10,RoyalExclusive Alpha200 |
12/31/2010, 12:47 PM | #29 | |
Registered Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 624
|
Quote:
I guess I do write longer posts than most, but this is because I believe people should understand what is being discussed as fully as possible. Facts are key points to any reading, and statements should include evidence in their support so they are more than just basic opinion. The more well rounded the data, the better the information. Landon
__________________
University: Biology M.S. - 2012, M.D. 2015 Tanks: (2) 28g Nanocube 150w MH HQI - 18w Actinic CF 29g Blue Spotted Jawfish Tank |
|
01/01/2011, 11:53 AM | #30 | |
Registered Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 404
|
Quote:
|
|
01/01/2011, 12:19 PM | #31 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 430
|
You can do anything you want with the reefangel. Changing outlet programming takes about 10 seconds and is simply changing the number of the outlet in the coding. For example if you want the wavemaker on outlet 7 instead of 4, you place 7 where the number 4 is. There is also an auto generator program out that you set all your parameters and assignments into and it writes the code for the controller. All you do is load it. Many people bash the reefangel because it is cheap to purchase compared to the other options, it is not sexy, it does not have a large following that post on RC, does not advertise, it is opensource so there is little money to be made on it, its not "trendy"and lastly it does not have a sponsor forum here. There have been many threads removed and or closed from this website about the controller. The development software most people refer to is extrememly dated. I think the current version is 8.5.??. There is a support for just about anything you want and if you have an issue you can email the owner and he will write the program for you in less than 24 hours and send it back for you to load. I have been running the controller since it started selling in May or June of 2010. It has not crashed my tank, not caused any failure, worked flawlessly, and been supported better than any aquarium product I have ever purchased. And yes it does have a graphing function. There is a google group that is dedicated to the controller if you need to find out more about what software is out there for the product.
|
01/01/2011, 01:25 PM | #32 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hood River, OR
Posts: 125
|
Great thread! I too am looking at incorporating a controller into my system I am building up. This information is priceless when researching/learning.
|
01/01/2011, 07:24 PM | #34 | ||
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 157
|
Quote:
1.) The controller can toggle any number of outlets based on the pH probe's input. Changing these setting cannot currently be done on the web or controllers headunit. Right now it would have to be added through the Arduino IDE and uploaded to the controller. The libraries, in my experience, make it very easy to make this change if(ReefAngel.PH < 780) {ReefAngel.Relay.On(CO2)} The above line would turn on the relay with the alias "CO2". You could just add another line to check if the pH has reached the desired level and use the OFF command. It's pretty simple to make changes and I'm sure if a request was put in to the user who has been writing and sharing the latest libraries, he could add the menu items so you can make the changes on the headunit instead. The community has been very accommodating in that regard. 2.) Reassigning outlets to different functions would have to be done in code library and uploaded. 3.) Settings and calibrations are stored in non-volatile EEPROM Memory. This means all your calibrations and settings that are made to the program will be restored after a power outage. They do not revert back to some default value. 4.) I'm a little confused about this one. If you're looking for historical data logging and reactive alerts to parameters, then yes it has to be running. If you just want to know how your tank is doing at any point in time or control some outlets for say a "Feeding Mode" then you can fire it up any time you want and do that. It's not required that it run 24/7 but it is most beneficial if it is. If enabled, the controller itself will just broadcasts its parameters for anyone listening. All I'm doing is capturing those parameters and doing different things with them. If you're referring to the actual storage of the parameters on the controller itself, I know there is a limited amount of memory on the unit to work with so I'm not sure that its feasible to store 6 months or even a years worth of data on it. In this case, I believe a PC is better suited for this task. Also, the firmware programming aspect isn't really my strong suit so I'll leave that up to the people who could do a much better job with it. To more directly answer your question, no I didn't really consider programming anything I've done into controllers firmware. I don't know the nuances that well and honestly just did the best I could with what I know. You may be right that certain functions or features will be better off in the firmware but thats exactly why I love that this is open source. It's an ever evolving product that will can only get better with time. Eventually those very features might make its way into the firmware and I will be able to remove them from mine. You can upload different things to try out and remove those you don't like. You're not locked into any one set of rules or features. If you can think of it, the community will help you to try and see it through to fruition. For this reason, it's exactly why I made the purchase. 5.) I really have no idea, but I hope so. Again, I'm not saying this controller is perfect. Far from it. It's definitely not for everyone. If you're looking for a budget controller that comes with quite a lot out of the box, and don't mind some DIY, I'd say it's definitely worth consideration. You're right Shard, when you say it hasn't had enough time to mature when comparing to some others. It will be interesting to see what happens with it. It's refreshing to see how far everything has come in just the past 6 months, though. Quote:
|
||
02/09/2011, 05:18 PM | #35 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 422
|
Nice thread as I am looking to get a controller for my 90 gallon. I am leaning towards the APEX Lite. The most important thing for me is setting everything up on my computer and being able to download app to work on my iPad. My lights as well as heater and being able to monitor pH and temp will be my main uses.
|
02/09/2011, 05:30 PM | #36 |
Moved On
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 243
|
+1 Profilux......just do it!!
|
02/09/2011, 11:49 PM | #37 |
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Celebration, Fl
Posts: 600
|
|
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Controlling Chiller with Temp Controller. | cpatbay | Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment | 1 | 10/14/2006 12:55 PM |