Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 12/27/2011, 07:11 PM   #1
Mark Bianco
In Memoriam
 
Mark Bianco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Infinity and Beyond
Posts: 2,445
Programing a pump and float switches.

Hello Everyone,

I am trying to set my main pump to run unless both float switches are open, (I know I need an {and} statement.) Along with that I want to add a 2 minute delay before the pump starts back up after the float switches are back into the open state, but not having any delay shutting off the pump if both switches return back to the closed state. After reading, reading and rereading the manual several times, about how the defer statement applies to all of the commands within an outlet program. I am not sure if this will do what I want it to or not. Any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Mark


(Virtual outlet “OverFlow”)
Set OFF
If switch1 closed Then OFF
If switch2 open Then ON


(MainPump) (EB8 Outlet)

Fallback ON
Set ON
If OverFlow = ON Then OFF
If OverFlow = OFF Then ON
Defer 002:00 Then ON


Mark Bianco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/27/2011, 10:06 PM   #2
erikkiehle
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 24
It seems to me if you want OverFlow to be triggered on by both switched being Open then you need to do

OverFlow:
Set ON
If switch 1 closed then OFF
If switch 2 closed then OFF

I think someone else should chime in but that might do what you have in mind.

For the MainPump, you just need the If *Outlet* ...
I don't think you need the "If *Outlet* OverFlow = OFF Then ON" statement

The Apex check the programming every second. As soon as the OverFlow statement became OFF again the Set ON command carries through to the Defer and then after 2 min would come on again.


erikkiehle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 03:08 AM   #3
Mark Bianco
In Memoriam
 
Mark Bianco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Infinity and Beyond
Posts: 2,445
THanks for your input, but I am trying to make it so that both float switches need to be closed at the same time to shut off the pump.


Mark Bianco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 07:30 AM   #4
Comtek
Registered Member.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 312
why do you need two float switches to control one pump


Comtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 08:44 AM   #5
erikkiehle
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Bianco View Post
THanks for your input, but I am trying to make it so that both float switches need to be closed at the same time to shut off the pump.
Then for OverFlow:
Set ON
If switch 1 open then OFF
If switch 2 open then OFF


erikkiehle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 11:57 AM   #6
Comtek
Registered Member.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comtek View Post
why do you need two float switches to control one pump
again i'm wondering why two switches ?
if either of them fail your pump will not come on and you double the chance of that happening by using two


Comtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 02:57 PM   #7
SC Reefaholic
Registered Member
 
SC Reefaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chapin, SC
Posts: 410
I'm thinking you will need to create a virtual outlet but I cant really help you with that. RussM or Kengro would be the ones to help you. You might try PMing them.


SC Reefaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 03:36 PM   #8
erikkiehle
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 24
@ SC Reef, he already has a Virtual Outlet "OverFlow".
@ Comtek, I'm curious too. I could see a situation where 1 float switch controls an ATO pump and if the reservoir ends up empty the second backup switch cuts off the return pump to prevent pump running dry.

Program for virtual outlet OverFlow:
**I think of this OverFlow outlet as an alarm statement to shut of return pump. Set virtual switch to On would result in pump shutoff, EXCEPT when either the following line 2 and line 3 is true**
Set ON
If switch 1 open then OFF
If switch 2 open then OFF
Normally at least one switch is open, so in normal operation this virtual switch will result in the virtual switch (**shutoff/alarm**) of outlet OverFlow ending in OFF if either sw1 or sw2 is open then the Set ON gets turned OFF.

Only when both sw1 and sw2 are BOTH closed does the Set ON statement in line 1 carry through. Line 2 and Line 3 would be ignored if the sw1 and sw2 are CLOSED. Then the outlet OverFlow becomes ON and in the Pump outlet turns the Pump OFF.

*** At least I think that's correct. My brain is hurting trying to think that through ***

I too would like to hear the situation for my own knowledge expansion. I've only had my Apex a month and am still figuring out new ways to utilize it.



Last edited by erikkiehle; 12/28/2011 at 04:01 PM. Reason: clarification
erikkiehle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 04:57 PM   #9
Mark Bianco
In Memoriam
 
Mark Bianco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Infinity and Beyond
Posts: 2,445
My reasoning for two floats switches is I travel normaly about two weeks on the road then a weekend home, then back to traveling again. My son does come over daily to feed the fish and top off the water. I a more worried about a snail crawling up on one of the sensors then I am worried about the tank overflowing, but if it did then both switches would be closed and turn off the pump.

Mark


Mark Bianco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 07:02 PM   #10
SC Reefaholic
Registered Member
 
SC Reefaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chapin, SC
Posts: 410
Then how about:

Set OFF
If switch 1 open then on
If switch 2 open then on

That way as long as either switch was open the pump would be on but if both switches closed then the OFF statement would take effect.


SC Reefaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 10:13 PM   #11
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
[MainPump]
Fallback ON
Set ON
If Switch1 CLOSED Then OFF
If Switch2 CLOSED Then OFF
Defer 002:00 Then ON

As requested in the first post, the main pump will run unless *both* float switches are OPEN (if either switch is CLOSED, the pump will be shut off), and there will be a 2-minute delay in start up. No need for a VO.



Last edited by RussM; 12/28/2011 at 10:23 PM.
RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 10:21 PM   #12
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Be sure to program a suitable delay for skimmer startup as well. One way to do it:

[Skimmer]
Set OFF
If Outlet MainPump = ON THEN ON
Defer 003:00


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 10:26 PM   #13
SC Reefaholic
Registered Member
 
SC Reefaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chapin, SC
Posts: 410
I think what he is trying to accomplish is to have the return pump continue to run even if one switch closes. It appears that he is using the switches on his display to keep it from running over. He is using 2 switches as redundancy so that if a snail were to push one switch up the return would keep running but if both switches were pushed up then that would indicate a high water situation and the return would shut off. The likelyhood of both switches being pushed up at the same time by something other than the actual water rising is minimal so he would feel more safe with the dual switches.

Thats why I'm thinking:

Set OFF
If switch 1 is OPEN then ON
If switch 2 is OPEN then ON
Defer 002:00 then ON

As long as one of the switches remains open the pump will run. But if both are closed then the pump will be off and not turn back on for 2 minutes.


SC Reefaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/28/2011, 11:00 PM   #14
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
I think Mark needs to decide which way he wants it ... Posts #1 and #3 are contradictory.


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/29/2011, 03:15 AM   #15
Mark Bianco
In Memoriam
 
Mark Bianco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Infinity and Beyond
Posts: 2,445
I see where my posts were confusing, Sorry about that guys SC Reefaholic was correct about the way I did want the floats to work.


Mark Bianco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
neptune apex, programming


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pump with Float Switch kirklt New to the Hobby 5 11/06/2010 01:46 PM
Faulty Float Switch strike2867 Reef Discussion 12 03/31/2010 02:01 PM
programming for dual float switches Creetin Neptune Systems 4 11/10/2009 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2025 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2022
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2025 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.