Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Seahorses & Pipefish
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/27/2015, 11:18 AM   #1
HauntedFog
Registered Member

Setting up a 37 gallon cube Sea Horse tank

Hello everyone, my name is Rick and I'm very new to saltwater aquariums. I will be setting up a MarineLand 37 gallon cube seahorse aquarium. I have been reading a lot of the post on this site, watching you tube videos and lot of videos by BRS. I think I have a firm direction that I'm going in now. I just need some advice on equipment now. I have the aquarium and I bought a Fluval 206 canister filter.

Here are my plans

RO/DI water from LFS
Instant Ocean Reef Crystals salt mix
30+ pounds of dry rock, seeding with some live rock.
Live sand
Reef Octopus BH-90 HOB protein skimmer
Starting with cleanup crew of snails(once tank has cycled)
Live Seahorse friendly corals
Pair Mandarin Gobies
Peppermint Shrimp
Pair Seahorses

Questions:

1. What light to use for the corals? I'm going between the Current Orbit or the New Marineland Led Strip light or is there a better choice?

2. Copepods for the Mandarins. Will they survive in the tank if I seed the tank and give them time to setup or do I need something like the Aquafuge2 External hang-on Refugium that has it's own light from BRS. I have limited space and cannot really put anything under my stand.

Late for work will have to ask more questions later.

HauntedFog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/27/2015, 02:31 PM   #2
vlangel
Registered Member