Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/25/2015, 04:49 PM   #1
Salty Cracker
Registered Member

Red slime away?

I have been fighting a losing battle for a couple months wirh heavy red slime. I have tried lights out for three days, reduced feeding, water changes...etc. So now red slime remover was just mixed and hit the tank. Fingers crossed!

Salty Cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/25/2015, 05:09 PM   #2
Sisterlimonpot
R.C. Fraternity President

ah man there were other options before resorting to an antibiotic.....

Not to sound like a proponent of Dr Tim products but when you find something that works why change it?

I would've recommended using refresh and then waste away. there's a wonderful article on his website urging not to use antibiotics... This is an all natural way to get rid of cyanobacteria by fixing the underlying problem and not just treating it with antibiotics

Dishes are done man!

Current Tank Info: 300 in progress
Sisterlimonpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/25/2015, 06:05 PM   #3
mcgyvr
Registered Member

"lights out" should say.. absolute darkness..
Literally wrap your tank..so NO light.. even ambient room lighting can make it not work against cyano.
That along with siphoning out as much as you can will take care of it..

but hey.. slime away is in.. so still siphon out as much cyano as you can as often as you can during your water changes..

mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/25/2015, 07:06 PM   #4
jetmart
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisterlimonpot View Post
ah man there were other options before resorting to an antibiotic.....

Not to sound like a proponent of Dr Tim products but when you find something that works why change it?