Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/28/2018, 09:27 AM   #1
Turf Plumber
Registered Member

First time reef build

Hello all, i'm new to the reef hobby. I am about ready to cycle my tank and thought it might be a good idea to get a few experienced opinions to make sure i didn't make any silly mistakes before i turn the key. I plan to eventually house some LPS but i'm not really interested in SPS at this point. Will probably start FOWLR

anyway here are the specs:
75G display, about 20" deep
Current 48" LED- i know its not the brightest but i suppose can always add more actinic in the future if i need to. can't afford the hydra.
1200gph box overflow and ~700gph return
20G sump- no substrate
Octopus 110 skimmer
10G separate refugium, will run @150gph
was hoping the slow flow through the refugium would be ideal for my attempt at culturing copepods. i will welcome suggestions as to what exactly to use in the refugium. Substrate, (LR vs those magic blocks of nonsense or whatever, etc.) It has a drilled overflow and will be nearly full of water.
I was going to stuff the first chamber of the sump with polyfil unless someone has a better idea. Also, the owner of my LFS swears by these bags called chemi-pure i think. I wasn't going to add any chemical filtration unless i need it or someone here says i should start with some.

please don't make fun of my stand. i built it when i was about 18- my engineering was pretty good but my wood finishing skills... have been improved upon since then.

thanks in advance for your advice!

Turf Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/28/2018, 04:33 PM   #2
bertoni
RC Mod

To Reef Central